Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Letter to my younger d-self – Day 2 of D-Blog Week

on May 10, 2011

As a preface to this blog, I just wanted to explain that I was diagnosed at the age of 5, and during my middle to late teen years I gave up on taking care of myself because I thought diabetes was going to kill me at a very young age, so my attitude was “why bother?”  I was completely uneducated on the disease which is why I am such a big advocate on education now. Needless to say it was a dark time for me, and I’m so happy to have moved past it and found other wonderful D’s to share experiences with 🙂

Dear Patricia, (what I was called by most back then)

Hi, its me, your grown up self. Yes, I’m a lot older than you thought you would ever live to be! I have some tips for you that will make adulthood a much better and healthier place for you. Take heart, if you do the right things now, it may mean a world of difference in the future.

#1. TEST! I’m serious here. I know you hate it, but the nurses and CDE’s weren’t kidding when they said it was the key to good control. There is magic in those numbers….

#2.Get the stupid notion out of your head that you’re going to die, it ain’t happening any time soon, TRUST ME!

#3. Stop eating crap. Doesn’t have to be entirely, but cut down on it. You can ask your endo how to deal with “treats” as opposed to just cheating all the time. You think it’s not hurting you because you can’t see any damage, you will see the damage in years to come, it ain’t fun.

#4. GO TO THE EYE DOCTOR!! At least once a year, no less.  I don’t care if you hate it, the drops don’t sting that badly (and they hurt a lot less than laser and surgery, that’s for sure)  I don’t care if he’s scary, you really have to go, your sight depends on it.  You may not want to know the outcome if you don’t.

#5  Learn everything you can about diabetes and it’s complications.  It’s the best way to arm yourself for the fight against it.

#6  Don’t hide your diabetes, the more people know, the more they can help you.  Screw those kids who make fun of you.  You know you have good friends who would help at any moment if you needed it.  Trust me on this….stop living in denial.

Basically I’m writing this letter as your “wake up” call. I want to save you from the scary wake up calls I have endured.  Diabetes is no joke, but don’t be afraid of it, because with the right care you’ll be fine.  You can do it. I know you can!

With love & care,

From your older, wiser d-self

12 responses to “Letter to my younger d-self – Day 2 of D-Blog Week

  1. Cortney says:

    Well said! I think people of all kinds of situations should write a letter to their younger selves. 🙂

  2. Lauren says:

    Great letter! #6 is SO important! I wish I had known that in my younger years too.

  3. Vivian says:

    Lovely letter. Do you think she would listen?

  4. monkeyschool says:

    I love the letter to the younger self…as they say hindsight is 20/20. I hope my 12 yo can see the value in taking care of herself in the rebellious years to come. Thank you

  5. Lauren says:

    I wish I could have this letter when I was diagnosed. Really great advice!

  6. Karen says:

    I was older than you when I was diagnosed (I was 11) but I felt the exact same way during my teen and college years. I NEVER thought I’d make it to my 40s and that I would be complication free. I really loved this letter because I could write the exact same one to my younger self. It’s amazing how I always thought I was the only one who had ever felt those things. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • tricia7473 says:

      Thank you, Karen! I wish I could have sent this letter to younger self, or someone could have reached me at a younger age…*sigh* can’t dwell on that too long!

Leave a Reply

