Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Awesome Things – Day 5 of D-Blog Week

on May 13, 2011

I can’t believe how late I am writing this….I guess the day just got away from me. Better late than never, right?! This week seems to be flying by! While I really enjoyed getting to make the list of things I hate about living with D, I know there are good things that have come from it, too. I’m not certain that I’ve actually done something because of my diabetes that I am proud of, but plenty has happened in spite of it, or because of it. I  have made many, many good friends, online and off because of D. But it hasn’t always been that way. Up until maybe 6 years ago, I felt totally and completely alone in this battle. Sure I have my friends and family who always support me in thick and thin, but the fact remained I had never met or known another type 1 diabetic. Of course I have met & known lots of type 2’s & women with gestational diabetes, but it’s just not quite the same. I always thought it was odd that I lived in NY where there are millions of people and I never met anyone like myself. Kinda sad, right? That was all about to change. I had just signed up for a My Space account and was exploring the “groups” section. For kicks, I decided to type in “Diabetes” and to my surprise, there was a whole world of people out there, just like myself! I must say it was an entirely new experience for me! From that group I had made many online friends, some of who materialized into good friends that I go out and do things with, and others I hope to meet someday. And somewhere along the way, from that original group, I met the love of my life, who just happens to be a fellow T1. We actually started out squabbling over a mutual online friend. (who is now a very dear friend of ours!) We went back and forth about care and such. Finally we got to emailing and the rest is pretty much history. He is, in fact, the first type 1 I had ever met in person. That was almost 4 years ago. Wow! Time flies!! Meeting others quickly followed. From that came finding support groups and ACT1, which I am happy to be a part of. (and my blog!)  So I’m pretty sure I can directly thank my diabetes for this, because I know it never would have happened without it.

9 responses to “Awesome Things – Day 5 of D-Blog Week

  1. Stacey D. says:

    I love how things progressed from the Myspace groups!!! Who would’ve thought?!?

    • tricia7473 says:

      I know, right?!?! I’m so happy to have met you and Tina! I think talking to you both dramatically changed my life for the better (you guys helped me make up my mind on the pump) And, of course, David changed my life, too!:)

  2. David says:

    Aww…shucks! Very nice blog. And so true.

  3. Sara says:

    Myspace! Wow! How times have changed! 😀

  4. Mike Hoskins says:

    Wow, very cool story! MySpace was the first social media/community site like that where I blogged, but didn’t really explore the D-peep aspect there – did blog some about diabetes, though. But it’s funny how times have evolved and got to where we are now! You’re one of the few Type 1 couples I have heard of, so it’ll be great to hear your perspectives! Thanks so much for sharing – to both you and David!

    • tricia7473 says:

      Thank you! I blogged on MySpace as well, but not really about D. Well, when I was going through retinopathy, I blogged about that, so I guess I *sort of* blogged about D, but not directly. I will definitely have to put some D couple perspective posts up, too:)

  5. Tina C says:

    Time sure flies! You have gone from a great friend online to one of my best friends in real life. So, I guess it’s good I got a central line all those years ago so you and David could disagree about what I should do for the scaring lol.

Leave a Reply

