Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

What’s your scary number?

on May 23, 2011

Since participating in the 2nd Annual D-Blog week, I’ve been a little busy and decided to take a short break from posting. Since today is a rainy Monday, I figured it was a good day to start posting again:)

There are times when you know you’re low, you test and it’s confirmed. There are other times when people ask: “Are you low??” You test, and once again, it’s confirmed. But what is low? 60? 50? 40? 30? Well, duh, yes all those numbers are considered “low” but what I’m asking is which number puts the fear of God into you when you see it? For me its anything that starts with a thirty-something. I’m not sure why, but even 39 strikes a certain fear in me. Just last week I woke up from a sound sleep drenched in sweat. Lovely, right? I said to myself “something’s not right” and immediately reached for the meter. Sure enough: I was 38. It freaked me out. I’m not sure why. What’s SO different between 38 and 40? 40 doesn’t freak me out. I think it’s a mind game, really. Anyway, I proceeded to eat way too many Skittles and went back to sleep. Upon waking I was 380-something. Ugh. Over corrected, again. Why do I do this to myself? Is it the impending doom I feel when I go that low? The “I don’t want to die” feeling I get? Who knows. But it sucks. What’s worse is when my boyfriend has a thirty something low. Again, it freaks me out. So much so that I retrace where I last saw the glucagon as a “just in case” measure. As the ad says “you may not need it but you’ll be glad it’s there”  So I reach out to my D friends out there…what’s a scary low for you? Is it a number? Or is it when you’re unable to function? Or when you know what has to be done, but your body isn’t doing what your brain is telling it to? Maybe its none of these. It could be a high number, which I personally just dread rather than fear. I invite you to share ….

8 responses to “What’s your scary number?

  1. Robin C says:

    For me, any number below 50 is enough for my head to go “oh shit how’d I get that low” but doesn’t necessarily set the fear of doom in me. The doom feeling comes when I actually feel that low. I can be 40 and not feel it, and I can be 50 and feel like I’m merely seconds away from death. The one where I feel like I can never enough enough to get the number up, and I’m fearing losing consciousness before being able to fix it.

    • tricia7473 says:

      I *totally* understand! There are lows I feel at 60 where I’m like that! But the 30-something number makes me CRAZY! (especially when I see it and don’t necessarily feel it) Thanks for reading and sharing, Robin!:)

  2. David says:

    I don’t have a feared low number. Just a feared low feeling. My feared number is a high one. Anything over 140 makes me ask, “Should I correct?” Anything over 250 makes me cringe because I know my pump will beep at me. Anything over 300 reminds me of long stays in the hospital. That’s where my anger starts. That’s where I get scared of more complications. That’s where I see the movie poster of “300” and get the dread!

  3. Sarah says:

    It was only ever scary when David knew he was too low, but too apathetic to do anything about it. Obviously, I don’t have a number to associate with that and I think I only ever saw him like that once since he was diagnosed.

  4. Karen says:

    Yup, I’m with you. While I do treat anything lower than a 70, I don’t really have much of a reaction. Neither does my husband. When I’m anywhere in the 40s he starts to freak out a little. For me, it’s the 30s that make me nervous. Although I have seen numbers as low as the high 20s and still been coherent and able to treat. I try not to take that for granted though – because I know it could change at any time.

  5. Stacey D. says:

    For some reason anything under 50 adds a certain fear. I don’t normally feel a sense of panic during a low unless I see that kind of reading. Or if I’m feeling really bad. I think that scares me more than the reading itself, no matter what it could be.

  6. Anything in the 30s scares me. 40s I can still deal with and feel relatively calm….as long as I’m at home. If I’m out somewhere then it might be different, depending on the situation!

Leave a Reply

