Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

What not to say.

on July 26, 2011

It definitely has been a while since my last post. I keep getting these great ideas to write about and just haven’t been acting on them. I’m not sure if I’m in a slump or just plain lazy. I have been a bit busy but that’s never stopped me before, so instead of making excuses I’m just going to continue on to my topic that has gotten me so riled up as of late…

I started out writing this post about the D police, and thought it wasn’t totally fair. While I *HATE* the D police with a special passion, I realize most of them are friends and family members with good intentions. It’s the strangers I  come across that think its OK to judge and tell me how to take care of myself. (such as coworkers, long-lost family members and acquaintances) While in the midst of being angry over someone else’s D police patrol, I took it upon myself to Google “what not to say to a type 1 diabetic” and my findings were rather interesting, in my opinion.

The first thing I found was this video:

Sorry for the obstructed view, I believe its due to the layout of my blog, but you get the idea nonetheless. I’ve posted this EVERYWHERE! Twitter, Facebook, and now here! I think it’s absolutely great!! This could also be called “What not to say to a type 1 diabetic” (Not just the parent of a CWD) It works well, either way. Some of my favorite lines: “Like stupidity, there is no cure for type 1 diabetes” and “There are only 2 things she can’t eat. Poison, and cookies…MADE WITH POISON” There are so many more things in there, but those two really made me laugh out loud. I especially liked when the mom said “I used to pour sugar down her throat just for the fun of it” That line brings me back to when I was first dx’ed and people used to say stupid things like “Oh you must have spoon fed her sugar as a baby” REALLY?? Let’s face it, I know ignorance is widespread, but you would think with the amount of people who have this disease that people would have picked up on it by now. I guess this is why I am pretty eager to answer questions of people who don’t say stupid things. I am (almost) always happy to answer or educate someone who is unsure or comes to me with questions. I guess what I’m saying here is while concern is nice, it can be really destructive at times. There is a proper and improper way to show your concern for someone, please take the time to learn the proper way to show your concern. Thank you for reading my rant:)

Leave a Reply

