Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Simonpalooza

on November 17, 2011

I can’t believe its been a little over a month since Simonpalooza took place, and yet I’m still basking in the afterglow of it all! I really wanted to write this blog a while back, but it kept getting away from me. I thought it might have been too late to post something, but I think the time in between has helped me to take it all in. Every time I see a Simonpalooza picture, I smile! Every time I interact with someone I met at Simonpalooze on Facebook or Twitter, it makes me happy! When I look at the Vlog Caroline, David and I made (Credit is ALL Caroline!) it makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside! To think I almost didn’t attend…THAT makes me sad.

It all started at some point in August I heard about this Australian guy, who just happens to be diabetic, wanting to visit the states to meet his diabetic on-line friends (otherwise known as the D-OC, Diabetic on-line Community)  and was asked to go. I gave my usual response of “we’ll see when it gets closer.” I received e-mails and was asked a few more times, still gave that same usual answer. It wasn’t until Simon actually came to the states and started his whirl-wind tour that it sparked my interest. As described (poorly) in the vlog, I was on Facebook one day and was shuffling through some posts of Simon’s visit to the states, and there I saw a video post. I decided to click “play” and with that, everything changed. I saw Simon speaking so heartfelt to Cherise (founder of DSMA) about how she changed his life, SHE did this, and HE was SO thankful for her and the D-OC, and to me, that was VERY touching. I felt like I HAD to be there, I HAD to go. THIS was going to be something HUGE! I knew I would regret it if I didn’t go.  I am thankful I went, on a daily basis! I have friends I met that day that I now follow on Twitter and Facebook and seeing what they have to say and interacting with them makes me smile:) Thinking about the fun we all had together makes me happy! Diabetes sucks, but the people we meet because of it are some of the most awesome people I could ever hope for and a month later thinking about this time we all shared makes me happy…and for that I am thankful!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

And the vlog…

6 responses to “Simonpalooza

  1. Cara says:

    Isn’t it amazing! It seems like so long ago. I miss everyone so much already!

  2. Karen G says:

    I am SO SO SO glad you decided to come that day! It really was a once in a lifetime experience. And I’m always thankful for every opportunity to hang out with you! 🙂

  3. Tina says:

    I’m glad you convinced me to get off my ass and go too! Love you and am so glad you don’t live as far from me as Simon does

Leave a Reply

