Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Could it be??

on November 22, 2011

For a while I’ve wanted a CGM, but currently it is NOT covered under my insurance and no amount of begging, pleading, lows, highs or letters of necessity will change this or at least that’s what I was told. Kinda sucks. Because the more I’m told I can’t have one, the more instances I find that I could benefit from having a CGM. A month or so back, I found myself on the phone trying to resolve a claim with my insurance and the gentleman helping me seemed to be incredibly helpful, so when he asked “is there anything else I can help you with today?” I took the opportunity to ask, yet again, if a CGM would be covered. I had to explain my situation a little and “school” the man on what it was, but, apparently, I found out then it very well IS covered! At that very moment I wanted to write a blog and shout it from the rooftops that I may be getting a CGM, but I didn’t want to jump the gun too quickly, or jinx myself, not that I’m all that superstitious but hey, you never know. My thoughts instantly went to: “could this FINALLY be??” I have to say I was a more than just a little giddy at the thought. But I had to keep myself grounded, so, of course the negative thoughts crept in as to why I didn’t want one…*just what I need, another thing attached to me….the technology hasn’t been perfected yet…do I really want to know what my BG’s are ALL the time?…* Those were just a few thoughts that may have swayed me in the other direction, but I do believe the pros outweigh the cons. I took a little time to think about this (and digest what I might actually be able to have) and decided to go with…(Drum roll, please) Dexcom! I know there is a CGM that goes right along with my pump, but I haven’t heard anything good about it, in fact, pretty much the opposite, which is why I went with the Dex. The only part now is the waiting game…I got the ball rolling spoke with the district manager of the territory that I live in and now I’m waiting on my doctor’s office to sign the “go ahead” on this…and I have to say, I don’t have much more in the patience department! I guess patience really is a virtue!!

 

I would like to hear more from my D-peers, though…Now its your turn to dish!!

Do you have a CGM?

Which one do you have?

Do you like it?

What do you like about it? What don’t you like about it?

What advice would you give to someone looking to start on a CGM?

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!:)

 

Thanks a bunch! And I’ll keep you updated on the status of its arrival and training and such!:)

3 responses to “Could it be??

  1. Cara says:

    I have the MM. There are a few of us out here who really like & get good result from them. I trialed the Dex & ultimately decided to stick with MM. My advice is to try them both. I hope Dex works out for you and I’m so glad that they are going to cover it for you! 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    I have the Dex. I use it those times when I feel like my bs is just all over the place & I need to reset some of my basal. I generally don’t wear it for more than a week or two before taking a couple month break. My biggest isues are: it get incredibly itchy for me, no matter what I do (which is more my problem than a problem with the dex) and it’s inaccuracy can drive me insane. Like I said, I use it to see if my blood sugar has a time of day it was going up or going down & I didn’t know it. But when it comes to alerting me of lows & highs it drives me NUTS. It loves to say I’m low (under 55) when I’m in the 70-90 range. Or if my blood sugar is sitting around 140, it will yell at me telling me I’m over 160 (which is the point I would usually correct). When these alarms are going off but I know my bs is good, I start ignoring the alarms. So of course then I run into the issue that I’m always ignoring it, even on the occasion it’s correct.

    So, for the purpose of keeping me blood sugar in check over the course of the day, it’s very helpful because it shows the graph instead of my having to check. It also gets me to check more because I’m constantly giving it additional calibrations. For the purpose of day to day monitoring for safety against highs & lows, it’s useless to me.

  3. patrickmcconnell says:

    Hi Tricia,

    Good luck with Dexcom, as you know I love mine, I did not have a lot of success with Minimed, So I think the Dex will work for you… again best of luck with your new tech…

    P…

Leave a Reply

