Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Thankful…

on December 6, 2011

I’m always so amazed how expensive it is to be a person living with diabetes. Even with insurance, it is quite costly, without insurance the cost can be downright devastating. So when I saw a friend’s status today saying “Christmas came early” because some supplies were covered, it always makes me thankful for the little things in life. And a little sad for those who don’t have proper coverage. I remember living many years without insurance and barely affording the supplies I needed to survive, or having to use the not-so-latest technology to get by. I remember after that long stint ended and finally being able to get health insurance and being SO VERY thankful for it! Thankful that the mail-order pharmacy included alcohol swabs with my syringes! Oh how wonderful! I thought to myself…it truly is the little things that can make you happy! Three months of supplies! How awesome! More than one vial of insulin in the fridge? Unheard of! I remember a few years back thinking a pump surely would not be covered, because my insurance did not include Durable Medical Equipment coverage. But I did some digging and found out that a pump WAS covered! Again, SO thankful, this time for something pretty darn important (and a big deal, to me, anyway!) I’ve heard stories of friends who at one time or another, could not afford test strips. So their family would go out and buy boxes of test strips as their Christmas gift. How wonderful! Or how sad that the simple necessities are not affordable to everyone:(  I suppose it all depends on what perspective you’re looking from…It sometimes makes me feel guilty, I too at one time was that person and I could very well be that person again, so I try not to take it for granted.

 

 

 

4 responses to “Thankful…

  1. Cara says:

    When I added up the the out-of-pocket cost of everything in that box if I hadn’t had insurance, I was suddenly very thankful for my insurance AND my job (which, at times I have trouble being thankful for). So grateful.

    • tricia7473 says:

      Your status was my muse for this particular post, if you didn’t know:) Thank you…it really drudged up some feelings for me of being thankful for what I have!:) Thanks, Cara!

  2. Yes! I was driving to my fancy endocrinology appointment at my fancy clinic this morning, and I heard a story on NPR about free clinics that are overwhelmed by patients who don’t have health insurance. It made me feel so unbelievably lucky to be able to afford the things I need to stay healthy, and angry that not everyone has the same opportunity.

    Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

