Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Dexcom, here I come!

on January 2, 2012

I received my Dexcom back on December 23rd, not entirely sure why I ordered it so close to Christmas, but I did. I thought I’d be able to figure it out, but with all the hustle and bustle going on, I just haven’t had time to “play” with my new toy. I was able to watch a bit of the tutorial DVD that came along with the system. I even tried looking on YouTube for some instructions on how to put the thing in, but I have to say, I don’t feel too confident enough to try it myself. I will attribute that to a friend who tried to place a sensor in her leg and accidentally broke the introducer needle off in her leg. (OUCH!) Just doesn’t sound like my kind of good time, if you know what I mean.

That being said, my “formal” training will be taking place tomorrow: Tuesday, January 3rd. Needless to say, I’m pretty excited to finally start wearing my CGM already! Just wondering if any of you had any words of wisdom, tricks, tips or anything to share? I will definitely need to “learn” how to wear it longer than the 7-days the FDA allows…so anyone who knows how to do that, let me know! Any and all responses are welcomed and appreciated!

6 responses to “Dexcom, here I come!

  1. Stacey D. says:

    Good luck tomorrow!! The trick to using the sensors more than 7 days is this. When the 7 days is up, you will get a message to change sensor soon a few times until it ends. At that point, just stop sensor, wait a few seconds and start sensor. Except you don’t do anything with the sensor :). You’ll get the hang of it.

  2. Robin says:

    I want to know other’s tips as well. I don’t think it’s something I’ll ever be able to do though. The sensor get SO incredibly itchy that it becomes painful by day 8 or 9 that I give up and take it out.

    • tricia7473 says:

      Yea, I’ve heard people have allergic reactions to the nickle in the Dex. I guess I’ll see…hope I can get more than just the 7 days, but if not, at least its better than the 3 days on the MM:) Robin, I’ll let you know if I lean anything in my training that sounds interesting or above and beyond the usual training.

  3. type1gal says:

    1. put the sensor in, let ‘marinate’ for 12 hours or overnight, then tell it to ‘start sensor’— much more accurate for the first day
    2. use skin prep/ i v prep to prepare skin, leave a ‘gap’ where the needle goes (kind of a doughnut hole) so it doesn’t mess with the sensor
    3. use tegaderm/ other tape to tape down sensor edges
    4. try the back of the arm/ love handles (sure, it only says abdomen, but don’t tell them that)
    5. don’t freak out if you get a ‘bloody’ site periodically…they still work fine, they just look nasty
    6. have a friend do the insertion, and watch youtube puppy videos to distract yourself…the needle looks big, but doesn’t actually hurt
    good luck!

    • tricia7473 says:

      Thank you so much!! I’m sure this will be some valuable info once I figure out what I’m doing 🙂 lol
      Nice to “meet” you, Type1gal! Please stop by anytime:)

Leave a Reply

