Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Dexcom, Where have you been all my life?

on January 9, 2012

I know I’ve only been wearing my Dexcom CGM for almost a week now, but I have to say, I’M LOVING IT!! (and no, this is not a McDonald’s commercial!! lol) I’m pretty sure I’m completely addicted!! I feel like I’ve had this thing forever. It’s almost like I couldn’t function without it. OK, maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but I’m totally addicted to it!! I seem to find myself looking at stalking my Dexcom all the time! (I’ve been told this dies down after a bit…I sure do hope so! lol) I think what I like most is it seems to be spot on when I’m low, like within a few points. When I’m higher it’s anywhere from 8 to 20 points off of what my meter says, but I’m fully aware neither are completely accurate. I also love the direction arrows, its SO helpful to know my bg’s are going up or down, or just flat-lining.  It has detected a bunch of lows for me already, even an overnight one that woke me from a deep sleep and saved me from waking up in a puddle of sweat. (something I am not fond of) I do have to say I am VERY  happy to finally be using this oh-so-helpful device. From making the decision to go with the Dexcom, the back and forth between my doctor’s office (the problems they were giving me) and Dexcom reps (super helpful) and Edgepark, and FINALLY being able to use it and get helpful information from it, I feel like I’ve scaled Everest! (for once, my insurance company was NOT even a blip on the screen in this whole mess!) I must say, It’s an amazing feeling! (after 2 months of red tape, I would imagine it to be a good feeling!) So far so good, and I hope it stays that way!:)

Leave a Reply

