Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Just a question…or five…

on January 11, 2012

Hi there…this blog post is directed to all my fellow Dexcom users out there in the DOC. I have a few questions that I was hoping to compile a bunch of answers for and make my own mind up about. For the most part, I know I have to just experiment and try things to see if they work for me…but I like to get a “feel” for things, if you know what I mean…so here goes:

1. I was instructed to wear my sensor east-west ONLY. Anyone know the reason for this? (yep, I failed to ask the CDE training me why) and have you ever worn it vertically? If so, how did it work out for you? (accuracy, comfort etc)

2. Has anyone worn their sensor on an “alternate” site? (arm, leg, etc) If so, have you found the results to be as accurate as on your tummy area? (I know many of you have and love it, just want to hear the good and bad as well, before I actually try it)

3. Where do you prefer to wear your sensor?

4. Have you worn your sensor past the 7-day FDA approved time? If so, how long do you typically wear your sensor? And are the results reliable?

5. How often do you calibrate? I’ve been told (by other Dex users) to do at least the 2, but not to “over calibrate” because it leads to more inaccuracy.

 

I’m sure I’ll probably have more questions, but that’s it, for the time being!:) Looking forward to hearing what everyone has to say!

4 responses to “Just a question…or five…

  1. Hey Tricia,

    Here’s what I was told and what I do..,

    (1) I was told east-west if on my abdomen
    and North-south if on my arm or leg… I don’t know why,

    (2-3) I always used Dexcom on my arm and find it to be far more
    accurate than my tummy or leg (although I`m told leg is best)… Again I don’t know why,

    (4) my record is 18 days (still getting great results)

    (5) I calibrate twice a day and if Dex is off with my fingerstick results…

    Hope that helps,

    All the Best,

    P…

  2. Heather says:

    Just my experience here, not FDA approved use…

    1) I was told E-W abdomen was only position used in FDA trials. I think N-S on ab would make bending harder, but I never tried.

    2) I use back of my arm. My ab has enough scar tissue from pumping that it doesn’t have many available sites. Pump site in thigh once was painful and unstable (got hit a lot) so I haven’t tried it for CGM

    3) back of arm

    4) I keep it in as long as readings are pretty good & the tape sticks, sometimes with help. I’ve heard of three weeks, but I don’t know that I’ve ever made it more than a bit past two.

    5) I calibrate like Patrick. A friend who started recently found more calibration to be helpful.

    Good luck!

    • tricia7473 says:

      Hi Heather! Thank you so much for stopping by & taking the time to answer my questions, I appreciate it! I was looking for non-FDA approved answers, so this works great! I agree N-S on the tum area might not be comfortable, but I think it would be great on the arm area…guess I’ll have to try & see! Thanks again for all your input:)

Leave a Reply

