Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Exciting news…

on January 27, 2012

Some of you may already know this, but for those of you who don’t…I’ve decided to go back to school! I do have an Associate Degree in Liberal Arts, but after some long hard thought, soul-searching and mulling over this and talking about it for years, I’ve decided to go for my Bachelor’s in Nursing. The details are being worked out, but right now I’m prepping myself by taking an on-line course to get my GPA up so I can apply to the school of my choice. (hoping this class does the trick!) My ultimate goal is to become a nurse and then study to become a CDE (Certified Diabetes Educator) It is my goal, or dream, to work with diabetics, be it a nurse, or a CDE. I figure if I can’t do my first choice, nursing gives me a wealth of different choices and opportunities to choose from.

It all started when I was 5 years old. After spending what seemed like an eternity (in dog years) in the hospital after my diagnosis (which was probably more like a week) and being exposed to different kinds of doctors, nurses and other kids (mostly cancer patients, little did I know) I announced to my parents: “I want to be a nurse!” I believe the reasoning behind it back then had to do with a specific incident I had with a witch of a nurse who made me feel like I did something terribly wrong. It was my first night in ICU and my parents were forced to leave due to hospital rules, I was scared and alone and this woman was not nice. I was a shy and timid kid, so me even being able to speak up must have taken a lot for me to do. I remember her making me even more scared, almost to the point of tears, I was FIVE for God’s sake, and I had never been away from my parents before this. Not sure what this woman was thinking, but it wasn’t good. The rest of my memories were of really nice and caring nurses and I wanted to be one of them! I could see myself doing what they were doing and I thought I could do it well. I also secretly wanted to stick people with needles, like I had to be stuck while I was there. (was that so wrong?!) I have another vivid memory after that, not sure how long in between, but I was visiting my pediatrician’s office and he came in for oh what seemed like 1 minute. Asked me a few questions, looked at my throat and ears and gave the nurse a long list of tests to perform. I decided when I left that office, that I did not want to be a nurse, but rather a doctor, since they do so little work and get paid the big bucks. (guess I wasn’t such a stupid kid after all! ;P lol) But I digress. Years went by and I must have changed my mind a million times. Then life happened. (that’s the nice way of saying things didn’t work out the way I saw them in my head) I ended up in insurance and pretty much did that for longer than I’d like to admit. What started out as a part-time job while in college just ended up being my career. I was not happy with that and felt unsatisfied, unfulfilled, unhappy and any other un-words you can think of. More $#!* happened and well, I did a lot of soul-searching and ended up here at my decision!

I’m looking forward to the road ahead and will keep you posted!

 

 

One response to “Exciting news…

  1. Karen G says:

    Wow, that is MAJOR news!!!! Good for you and congratulations! I’m so excited and can’t wait to hear more about this new chapter of your life!

Leave a Reply

