Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Day 2 of dblog week: One Great Thing

on May 15, 2012

Today’s Topic:

Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”.  But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit.  Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly!  Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes.  Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well! 

I feel this is a great topic, but I have to say: I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep my post to just one great thing! You may or may not know, my boyfriend, David and I are both type 1 diabetics. Sometimes I feel we are like a superhero duo fighting against D! (OK, well, that might be a slight exaggeration, but I assure you we do make an excellent team!)  My super-power is how I am able to spot lows, not so much for myself and not only on my boyfriend, but I can spot lows for other diabetics I barely know, as well. (It’s more like a curse, though. Because, really, who wants to be “that person” who points out that it may be time to test…I kind of hate it, at times.) But something I am proud of is how good I am at the testing thing. I’m always testing, I’m good for 8 to 10 times (and sometimes more) a day. I test so often, I have gotten David to test more often because of it, too!

I have to give kudos to my man, though. He carries around a 40 lb backpack full of all kinds of supplies. D and non-D related supplies, as well. He is ALWAYS good for some amazing kind of candy to treat a low. Be it jellybeans, Starbursts or Skittles, he’s your man!! He knows the carb counts for all of those candies, too.  He’s also your man if you’re in need of a syringe, Humalog, glucagon, some One-Touch test strips or a site for a Minimed OR Animas pump! (Yes, REALLY!) He is very impressive, and I’m not just saying that because I love him, but because it’s the truth! He’s also got this cool way of clearing a path on crowded NYC sidewalks for me:) and we do this little thing where we hold each other’s meters for one another while testing on those crowded city streets (or the mall, or wherever we happen to be!)

All in all we’re a pretty awesome twosome, in my opinion! 🙂

11 responses to “Day 2 of dblog week: One Great Thing

  1. Tilly77 says:

    you both sound like the best couple EVER! I’d love a boyfriend who had type 1 🙂 good job on the testing, I struggle with that all the time x

  2. pearlsa says:

    Wow being able to spot lows in others, that is a super power. Reading the last paragraph I pictured these two super hero’s walking around in NYC 🙂

    http://pearlsa.com/blog/

  3. pearlsa says:

    Being able to spot other people’s low is a pretty good super power 🙂

  4. Stacey D. says:

    Yay for David’s backpack!! 😉

  5. Johanna B says:

    I’m good at logging. I never test without logging the result. I still use a paper log because I am type 2 and don’t have the latest equipment but I’m proud of myself for testing 4 times a day and keeping good records. I agree with Stacey D – Yay for David’s backpack. Good man to have around.

  6. David says:

    Preparation is key. There’s not much I’m not prepared for. Except, for my own sneaky lows.

  7. Hi Tricia,

    I was wondering if you accepted any guest posting on your site. You have had some great Diabetes Blog Week posts and I was wondering if we could contribute one about Diabetes medication safety.

    I couldn’t manage to find your email on the site. If you could get a hold of me at jeff@drugwatch.com, I would greatly appreciate it!

    Thanks,
    -Jeff

  8. Drew says:

    I pictures two people dressed in super hero costumes with a big D on the front with supplies on a tool belt!

  9. Brian says:

    How awesome is it that you both know exactly what each other is going through!

  10. Tina Shaye C says:

    You have definitely gotten David to test more than before. I remember the first time he commented on how often you test. While it’s rare I am without some sort of sugar to treat a low. Heck it’s usually only when I have gone through them all, I know I can always turn to D.

  11. Sara says:

    I love the meter holding part. So sweet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

