Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Day 3 of dBlog week – One thing to Improve

on May 16, 2012

Today’s topic:

Yesterday we gave ourselves and our loved ones a big pat on the back for one thing we are great at.  Today let’s look at the flip-side.  We probably all have one thing we could try to do better.  Why not make today the day we start working on it.  No judgments, no scolding, just sharing one small thing we can improve so the DOC can cheer us on!

While I believe yesterday’s blog subject was super awesome and gave me lots of confidence in the good things I do, I know there are plenty of things I can improve on. One thing I used to be super awesome at was logging. I would test and log like a fiend. I’m not sure what happened exactly, or how I “fell off the wagon” but at some point shortly after starting my pump, I just didn’t log anymore. I stopped logging, period. I don’t know if it was because I felt overwhelmed about starting on my pump, or just was excited about getting my pump and decided to skip the logging. But it stopped, kind of like when a smoker quits cold turkey. I think in my head I felt justified for not keeping records after logging for so many years. I now had this medical device that would hold all of my info for me, so why bother with old school log book, right? Who knows?? What I do know is that I have the resources to log, and I really should start again. Logging helps determine trends and can help catch those things we may miss if we’re not looking at our results in patterns. Logging can also help in setting new basals when needed. I can upload my pump and have the software to do it. I also believe I have the software for my meter as well. While I’m sure these numbers could help my endo, he never asks for a log book, but rather asks me how I run and relies upon my memory. My memory is good, but sometimes I feel I could definitely use some help. Like the intro says, no judgments or scolding, so this is something I could benefit from….

Now for all that swagging I do that I like to call “carb counting”….;)

4 responses to “Day 3 of dBlog week – One thing to Improve

  1. I usually only log just before an endo appointment, as she doesn’t like the reports that the Omnipod gives out. But you’re right-logging frequently(and analyzing those trends) can make our D-Lives better, and help achieve smoother numbers. Something that we should all be doing.

  2. beth2027 says:

    I don’t log. Ever. I do download results and look at them….sometimes. But I’ve never been good at logging.

  3. I wish I could get myself to log. Dr K insists it’s something that Type 1s are just not capable of doing for any extended amount of time. I think I agree lol

    • tricia7473 says:

      Tina, I totally agree! He has never request that I log, he just asks for trends. I’ve always wondered why and now I know! I just feel it’s not a natural part of life to stop what you’re doing and log, it’s bad enough we have to test before we eat! lol I have to say. If I could just get myself to download and print out from my computer, I think it would help…but we shall see!;)

Leave a Reply

