Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Day 4 of dBlog week – Fantasy Diabetes Device

on May 17, 2012

Today’s Topic:

Today let’s tackle an idea inspired by Bennet of Your Diabetes May Vary.  Tell us what your Fantasy Diabetes Device would be?  Think of your dream blood glucose checker, delivery system for insulin or other meds, magic carb counter, etc etc etc.  The sky is the limit – what would you love to see?

As diabetics living with such awesome technology, we all have these amazing ideas on how to make things better, or invent the coolest gadget that could do this or that…but in reality, these ideas rarely come to be. I use a Minimed Paradigm pump where as David uses a Animas Ping. I see the ins and outs of both on a daily basis. We each love our pumps respectively, but, sometimes I wish I could take the best things from his pump and meld them with the best things from my pump to make an awesome super-pump! He’s got such great features on his. For example, his meter doubles as a remote for the pump, so that sucker could be tucked away and you still bolus (very cool, in my opinion) the meter also has carb counts of many foods, again also very awesome, the super bright screen and it’s waterproof (need I say more?) But then there are the things that bug the ever-living hell out of me with his pump. The excessive noise it makes while pumping! (WTH?) The super loud beeps while you’re pushing the buttons to bolus, the stupid song that NEVER shuts up when it’s low or out of insulin!! I used to like the song Fur Elise until his pump came along! And that God-forsaken clip that breaks if you look at it cross-eyed!! I would take all the things I love about my pump: solid construction, shape, color, quiet beeps and virtually soundless delivery and the way you can bolus in very few button pushes (proprietary to Minimed) and pair it with all the good things about his pump that I mentioned. I would make the device smaller, that would be great! I would integrate the pump, CGM and meter all into one small device. Add one more feature to this all in one device, a scanner that could read the amount of carbs on the plate of food you’re about to eat and send that info to the pump before bolusing, now we’re talking!!

All of these ideas are nice, but if I could just get my pancreas to work again…now that would be the ultimate !

4 responses to “Day 4 of dBlog week – Fantasy Diabetes Device

  1. David says:

    I was gonna say, the whole bionic pancreas is what we really need. With that, the pumps (noisy ones and all) can go to hell. But for the short term, I agree with you, honey.

  2. Super pump? I love that idea. Until there is a cure lets have super pumps

    http://pearlsa.com/blog/

  3. Tina Shaye C says:

    How great would a true super pump be?!? But of course it probably wouldn’t be covered by insurance lol 😉

  4. Sara says:

    I want a combo of the two pumps too. I did Minimed for 8 years and just switched to the Ping. I definitely understand all the plus and minuses that you listed for each!

Leave a Reply

