Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Day 5 of dBlog week – What They Should Know

on May 18, 2012

Today’s Topic:

Today let’s borrow a topic from a #dsma chat held last September.  The tweet asked “What is one thing you would tell someone that doesn’t have diabetes about living with diabetes?”.  Let’s do a little advocating and post what we wish people knew about diabetes.  Have more than one thing you wish people knew?  Go ahead and tell us everything.

I was doing so well with keeping up with the posts and today just….happened. Life happens. Diabetes happens. There is so much I want to teach non-diabetics, where to begin is a bit overwhelming to me. I guess I can start at the beginning and if I forget something, oh well, sh*t happens. I enjoy teaching people who are not in the know about diabetes, but sometimes all I want to do is fade into the background and be invisible. I am not just a diabetic, I am a whole person, with a life, who just happens to be living with diabetes. Sometimes I’d like a break, but such is life.

I’ll start off by saying diabetes is something that affects every single part of my life. Physical, emotional, mental, from what to wear to what I eat, how I eat it and when I eat. It affects every single second of every single minute of every single hour and you get the point. Not that I am always thinking about it, but it is a constant thought. Will this high blood sugar now affect me down the line? Will it be the cause of another complication? Is this low causing me brain damage? (or drain bramage, as I like to say) I just tested 20 minutes ago, but I better test again before I get into that car to drive. It is hard. Very hard. But, we as humans are extremely adaptable and we somehow tend to manage. But sometimes all we want is a d-vacation. Our lives are constant battles with numbers. We are the epitome of eating disorders. Seriously. We are constantly counting carbs, fat, (supposed to be) weighing and measuring the food we eat. Some days it feels like a constant uphill battle and other days life throws us a bone and our CGM’s plank. (I Thank God for those days!) It really isn’t all bad, and I certainly don’t want sympathy, I’ve been doing this for a very long time. All I’d like is some understanding, some slack on the days when I’m not up to whatever the day brings me. I wish there was a social experiment for diabetes, kind of like the ones where they give high school students eggs to care for, simulating a baby. Maybe give non-diabetics a huge bag to carry, a pump filled with saline, that beeps all the time and a meter and someone to remind them “you can’t just stuff that huge brownie in your face, you gotta test!” lol I really am more of an advocate for education, usually. I guess I’m just having an off day. It happens.

4 responses to “Day 5 of dBlog week – What They Should Know

  1. Colleen says:

    How very, very true!

  2. David says:

    Nice. Personally, I’d like for there to be better edumacation. Let it be known, that there is no diabetes. There are several types of diabetes. I don’t have the bad kind your grandpappy lost a toe to. I love educating people too. (It’s in my DNA. I HAVE to correct people. I should’ve been a cop) Maybe I should print up flyers to hand out to the ignorant.

  3. OK I have written a comment twice and both were erased (stupid WP) Guess I will try again. I can totally relate to everything you said. My CDE that taught me about pumps wore one for a month. She admitted she couldn’t know exactly how we live but at least she tried to get it.

  4. smartDpants says:

    Word. Today just happened to me, too. 🙂 Now I just posted today’s and tomorrow’s within minutes of each other. Oh, well! Tons of truth in your post. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

