Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Day 7 of dBlog week – Diabetes Hero (or in my case Diabetes Heroes!!)

on May 20, 2012

Today”s Topic:

Let’s end our week on a high note and blog about our “Diabetes Hero”.  It can be anyone you’d like to recognize or admire, someone you know personally or not, someone with diabetes or maybe a Type 3.  It might be a fabulous endo or CDE.  It could be a d-celebrity or role-model.  It could be another DOC member.  It’s up to you – who is your Diabetes Hero??

Wow! This week has flown by in a heartbeat! I have enjoyed this week immensely and the writing really got me thinking. While I have read only some of the posts, so far, I definitely plan on taking my time and reading through them all. I love the idea of ending on a high note! That being said, I’m not sure that I could just pick one person to be my Diabetic Hero. You see, until about 5 years ago, I had never met another type 1 in real life! I knew they existed in the wild, or so I heard, but never really saw one with my own eyes! Since then, I have met so many truly amazing type 1’s! I got to meet many of my friends from the DOC in person, which is always an amazing treat! I got the chance to chat with Phil Southerland at the UN Conference back in September. I have to say I got a little “star struck” over the thought, but thank goodness I got past that pretty quickly and was able to chat with him! I also got to say hello to Nicole Johnson of dLife, at a TCOYD seminar I attended almost a year ago. All my DOC friends I interact with almost daily on Twitter and Facebook, who cheer me on or pick me up when the going gets rough. All of the people participating in dblog week, who remind me I am not alone. Let’s not forget my personal friends who just happen to live with diabetes. Every day these people never cease to amaze me and are truly my heroes! Each and every one of these people inspire me to live life to the fullest and reach for the stars! You guys are my heroes, and I thank you all from the bottom of my heart!

3 responses to “Day 7 of dBlog week – Diabetes Hero (or in my case Diabetes Heroes!!)

  1. David says:

    AHEM! Ahem, Ahem!! 😉

  2. Brian says:

    I think it is awesome that you have each other! We all need an outlet since it can definitely feel like a deserted island sometimes!

  3. Ruth Wade says:

    I am very proud of both of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

