Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Thoughts…

on December 1, 2012

Diabetes

My friend Cara, over at Every Day Every Hour Every Minute posted this on Facebook today, with the caption reading “November is over. The official Diabetes Awareness Month has come to an end. But for those living with diabetes it continues on. We need a cure.”  I have to say, it really made me think. I’ve been diabetic for so long, I’m not sure what it would be like to live without it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying I am my diabetes or it owns me or anything like that. It’s just that diabetes is such a huge part of my life, such a big part of who I am, and has been for so very long, that I’m not sure how I would go about separating myself from it. (The image that comes to mind is of myself trying to take off a sopping wet neoprene wet-suit, kinda difficult!) I have wondered how long it would take for me to stop checking my pump or CGM or reaching for my meter. How long it would take for me to stop wondering if what I am feeling is due to a bg spike or drop, or bg related at all. All of these things have been so ingrained into me and who I am, I question what life may be like without the constant monitoring, need for control and worry that comes with d. Deep down, I know I would still be the same person, but in a different way. And for me, the thought of a cure is a very powerful good and yet a tiny bit scary thing. I still have hope for a cure. I pray I am able to see it in my lifetime.

Leave a Reply

