Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

February First Foodie Friday!

on February 1, 2013

Try saying that a few times quickly!! Wow! I can’t believe how fast January flew by and it’s already February 1st! That being said, this day got away from me, and I did want to get a recipe in for today, better late than never, I always say!

Cooking low carb can sometimes be daunting, but I’d like to share with you one of my “go to” recipes for when I’m looking for something without processed carbs in it. I like to call it “sausage and peppers” But it’s not your traditional Italian sausage and peppers, I add lib, A LOT on this one! You can too! Try this recipe out, and if something doesn’t tickle your fancy, leave it out or add more veggies, the choice is yours! I usually make this for David and myself, with some leftovers, so this will easily feed 2.

Tricia’s Ad-Lib Sausage and Peppers

2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 Mild Italian Sausage Coil (usually 1lb of sausage)

2 Red bell peppers, cut in thin strips

1 medium onion, medium chop

8oz sliced white mushrooms

1 28oz can diced tomatoes

In a skillet, cook sausage according to package, set aside. In a large frying pan, add oil and heat to medium temperature. Add red peppers cook 1-2 mins, then add onions, cook about 2 more minutes, then add mushrooms and cook together until veggies are tender. Add can of diced tomatoes. Cut cooked sausage into bite-sized pieces and add to tomato-veggie mixture. Bring to a bubble, lower heat and let simmer about 10 minutes. Enjoy!!

This recipe can be “beefed up” with some sort of pasta if you wish (but then the “lower carb” content goes out the window, but that’s OK, if you like!) I usually like to use Orzo if I want to make it with pasta. Just cook the pasta while simmering and serve over a bed of pasta! I’d love to see some of my readers share their favorite recipes, be it your own or ones you’ve been cooking for years and love! Please feel free to share:)

 

Leave a Reply

