Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

Superbowl Sunday!

on February 3, 2013

Superbowl Sunday is here at last! How the hell did that happen? It seemed like football season just started! Oh well, I digress. I love Superbowl Sunday! I like the gatherings, the parties and the food that all goes with the big game. I’m not the biggest football fan in the world, in fact, using the word “fan” would be a huge stretch! To be honest, I’m more of a “Puppy Bowl” fan! 🙂  As a diabetic this day can be a tricky one. For me, it’s a total crap shoot. There are tons of chips and carb-laden foods, which I love, but can wreak havoc on blood sugars. My favorite game day foods are chips and salsa or guacamole, wings and you guessed it, chili! Both of these foods can be really deceiving in how many carbs they actually have. But days like this happen but once a year, so I’m OK with that! There will be a LOT of swagging going on today! Besides, that’s what extended boluses and temp basals are for, right? 😉 I hope everyone enjoys the big game, and let the best team win!

Leave a Reply

