Battery Operated Pancreas

Just another day in the life of a diabetic…

ChAnGiNg ThE wOrLd!

on May 15, 2014

“Let’s kick off Diabetes Blog Week by talking about the diabetes causes and issues that really get us fired up. Are you passionate about 504 plans and school safety? Do diabetes misconceptions irk you? Do you fight for CGM coverage for Medicare patients, SDP funding, or test strip accuracy? Do you work hard at creating diabetes connections and bringing support? Whether or not you “formally” advocate for any cause, share the issues that are important to you. (Thanks go out to Kim of Texting my Pancreas for inspiring this topic.)”

Diabetes Blog Week

 

Where do I even start on this one?! So much has inspired me and my passion for advocating for diabetes education and rights, I honestly don’t know where to begin! I’ll be honest, I haven’t been able to blog due to school, but I would have to say I have always been open to the idea of listening and supporting the DOC in all senses of the word: from education to test strip accuracy to support groups and now working towards my BSN so I can become a CDE. I’d say my formal connection started almost seven years ago, when I attended my first support group for diabetic women, and eventually facilitated that group for period of time. I think support and education are the two things that are my passion. Without either of these, I’d be lost. (I’m sure others would agree) Advocacy, teaching and getting the proper information to people who may not know has always been a passion. Being open and honest with my professors in school has helped a great deal as well. This past semester I had a close relationship with my nutrition professor and she asked me to look over her power points for the lecture on PWD, to see if she had everything correct and if she forgot anything. I can not tell you how good that made me fee, that a college professor wanted MY input on HER lecture. It was a pretty damn awesome feeling! I think it’s safe to say changing the world one person at a time seems to be my plan of action.

Leave a Reply

